Australia 2011 Rugby World Cup Team

Australia has won the Rugby World Cup twice despite drawing its players from a relatively small pool of professionals. Determination and intelligent rugby are the hallmarks of Australian rugby and make the Wallabies a threat in any tournament they compete in.

Nickname: Wallabies
Coach: Robbie Deans
Best World Cup Performance: Winners (1991, 1999)

2011 Rugby World Cup Pool C
 Ireland 4 4 0 0 135 34 15 3 1 17
 Australia 4 3 0 1 173 48 25 4 3 15
 Italy 4 2 0 2 92 95 13 11 2 10
 USA 4 1 0 3 38 122 4 18 0 4
 Russia 4 0 0 4 57 196 8 29 1 1

2011 Australia Rugby World Cup Odds

World Cup – World Cup
Winner – 15:42
Click red odds to strike a bet

World Cup - World Cup
Australia Stage of Elimination -
Click red odds to strike a bet
Semi Final3/102/5
Runner Up9/211/4

World Cup - Australia v USA
Handicap (No Draw) - 09:30
Click red odds to strike a bet
Australia-46.5 3/10-59.5 10/11-59.5 4/5-59.5 4/5-60.5 1/1-60.5 5/6-60.5 10/11-60.5 5/6-60.5 4/5-60.5 1/1
USA+46.5 2+59.5 1/1+59.5 10/11+59.5 1/1+60.5 4/5+60.5 5/6+60.5 5/6+60.5 1/1+60.5 1/1+60.5 4/5

2011 Rugby World Cup

The Australian rugby team has a favourable draw for the 2011 Rugby World Cup. While Pool C is home to three Tier 1 nations, only Ireland represents any sort of threat to the Australian team, and the Wallabies can be fairly confident of securing a place in the quarterfinals – and of having opportunities to rest key players against weaker sides.

The 2011 Australia Rugby World Cup team will be built around the Super 15-winning Reds side, and the likes of Digby Ione, Quade Copper and Will Genia could all be superstars by the time the Rugby World Cup winner is crowned. Australia is Gambling Guru’s tip to win the 2011 Rugby World Cup.

Rugby World Cup History

Australia is one of only two countries to have lifted the Rugby World Cup twice. The Wallabies claimed their first World Cup title in 1991 by defeating England in a hard-fought final. Four years later, the Australians were eliminated in the quarterfinals of the 1995 Rugby World Cup.

Australia became the first team to win the William Webb Ellis trophy twice at the 1999 World Cup, as they defeated unexpected finalist France 35-12 at the Millennium Stadium. The Australians hosted their first Rugby World Cup in 2003, and once again made the final in which they lost to England, courtesy of a last-gasp drop kick by Johnny Wilkinson.

The 2007 Rugby World Cup was a tournament Australia would probably rather forget. The team made it to the quarterfinals of the tournament, but was unable to capitalise on the unexpected elimination of New Zealand, and lost to underdog and eventual finalist, England.


Australia has always had the knack of producing well-balanced teams fielding a number of players with good rugby brains. Defensive discipline combined with big, fast back line players, has often helped turn matches in Australia’s favour.


There are few chinks in the Wallaby armour, however, the team has experienced a number of problems related to the small pool of professional players that feed into the national team. Injuries to key players can be sufficient to end a Rugby World Cup campaign, and the lack of strength in depth is a handicap the Australian Rugby Union has battled to overcome.

Australia Rugby World Cup Squad


Ben McCalman, Radike Samo, Wycliff Palu, David Pocock, Rocky Elsom, Scott Higginbotham, *James Horwill, Rob Simmons, Nathan Sharpe, Dan Vickerman, Ben Alexander, Sekope Kepu, James Slipper, Salesi Ma’afu, Stephen Moore, Saia Faingaa, Tatafu Polota-Nau


Kurtley Beale, James O’Connor, Drew Mitchell, Digby Ioane, Adam Ashley-Cooper, Rob Horne, Pat McCabe, Anthony Faingaa, Berrick Barnes, Quade Cooper, Nick Phipps, Luke Burgess, Will Genia

World Cup - Team Betting
Australia Top Team Tryscorer - 15:42
Click red odds to strike a bet
O'Connor, J14/5

Back to top