ATP Tennis Masters Cup

ATP Tennis Masters Series TrophyOther than the four grand slams, the Tennis Masters Cup is considered to be the most prestigious men’s tournament on the tennis calendar. The tournament is played at the conclusion of the ATP season and involves the eight top ranked players in the ATP Tour’s rankings.

The Tennis Masters Cup does not follow a knockout format. Instead, the tournament divides competitors into two groups of four, within which players play a series of round-robin matches. The top two players within each group then progress to the semi-finals, with the winners of these appearing in the final of the Tennis Masters Cup.

Tennis Masters Cup History

The Tennis Masters Cup is the product of the gradual evolution of the Masters tournament first played in 1970. The tournament was originally intended to provide a showcase for the talents of the highest ranked men’s players at the end of each season, with the Masters having little real significance in the context of the regular season.

This changed in 1990 when the ATP Tour was created and took over the Masters tournament, re-branding it as the ATP Tour World Championship, which then became an important event offering the same ranking points as the grand slam tournaments. The ATP Tour World Championship initially competed with the ITF Grand Slam Cup, which featured the top 16 grand slam players of the season.

In 1999 the ITF and ATP Tour joined forces to create the Tennis Masters Cup – a combination of the previous two tournaments. The tournament rules were amended slightly at this time to allow for any grand slam winner ranked outside the top 8 on the ATP rankings to replace the 8th ranked player at the Tennis Masters Cup.

In 2009 the name of the tournament will change once again as the tournament is re-branded as the ATP World Tour finals.

Tennis Masters Cup Betting

As the most prestigious event on the ATP Tour, the Tennis Masters Cup is well covered by UK online sportsbooks. Tennis fans and punters can look forward to wide coverage of all Tennis Masters Cup matches, with specials and free bets coming from specials orientated sportsbooks, including Paddy Power and Boylesports.

[[Tennis Masters]]

Tennis Masters Cup Winners

The top ranked players on the ATP tour have a good record of claiming the Tennis Masters Cup, and are rarely dethroned by lower ranked players. This is illustrated by tournament records, which confirm that the dominant players in each year have performed well at the Tennis Masters Cup.

Pete Sampras and Ivan Lendl share the record for most wins at the tournament, with each claiming five Tennis Masters Cup winners titles during their careers.

Boylesports £20 Free Bet

  • Simply register a new Boylesports account
  • Place your first bet with a stake of £/€20
  • Receive a free bet to the value of £/€20.

Boylesports is a 4.5 star rated Sportsbook. You can read the Boylesports Review to learn why.

Back to top

Get Your Free Betting Guide

Get your free Sports Betting Guide packed full of useful tips, strategies and advice to make your betting more profitable.