ATP Monte Carlo Masters

The Monte Carlo Masters is the third Masters Series event contested annually by the members of the ATP Tour. The event is the season�s first major tournament to be played on clay, and is hosted at the Monte Carlo Mountain Club in Monaco.

The Monte Carlo Masters attracts a smaller field than many other Masters events, with only 24 players participating in the main draw. However, the quality of players is of the highest order with the world�s top ranked players and clay court specialists always in attendance.

Monte Carlo Masters History

The Monte Carlo Masters is one of the oldest events of the Masters Series. The tournament was founded in the French commune of Roquebrune-Cap-Martin, France, in 1897. It formed an important part of the French tennis circuit during the early part of its history, attracting the finest players in the country.

During the 1950s the Monte Carlo Masters began attracting a more international field, as foreign players started winning the tournament on a consistent basis. The event entered the Open Era in 1969, leading to a substantial improvement in the quality of the field participating in the tournament. During this period the tournament was known as the Monte Carlo Open.

In recent years the Monte Carlo Masters has established itself as undoubtedly the most prestigious clay court Masters Series event. It has also developed a reputation as an important springboard for French Open success, with Monte Carlo Masters winners traditionally going on to do well in the year�s second grand slam.

Monte Carlo Masters Betting

Monte Carlo Masters betting markets provide an excellent opportunity for punters to place bets on the unpredictable encounters so typical of clay court tennis. Bookmakers provide a selection of popular tennis betting markets, although coverage is not as extensive as for grand slam events.

While placing an each-way bet on a dominant clay court player in the Monte Carlo Masters outright winner betting markets is never a bad idea, punters will also need to explore alternative betting markets to make the most of their Monte Carlo Masters betting opportunities.

Live betting can generate some great betting opportunities, as it allows punters to read the flow of play before staking money on a match.

[[Monte Carlo Masters]]

Monte Carlo Masters Winners

Spanish clay court supreme Rafael Nadal holds the record for the most wins at the Monte Carlo Masters, having taken the title on four occasions. Sweden�s Bjorn Borg and Austria�s Thomas Muster also boast impressive records in the tournament, each having taken three Monte Carlo Masters winners titles.

Monte Carlo Masters Resources

Official Site

Back to top

Get Your Free Betting Guide

Get your free Sports Betting Guide packed full of useful tips, strategies and advice to make your betting more profitable.