Indian Wells Masters

Indian Wells Center CourtThe Indian Wells Masters, currently branded as the Pacific Life Open, is the first Masters Series tennis tournament of each year. The tournament is played in March on hard court at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden in California.

As one of the larger Masters Series events, the Indian Wells Masters has a main draw of 32 players. The tournament facilities include one of the biggest tennis stadiums in the world, helping it to achieve the highest attendance figures besides the grand slams.

Indian Wells Masters History

The Indian Wells Masters tournament was first played in 1976 as the Newsweek Champions Cup. The event drew strong fields from the outset, with top players in attendance even during the early years of competition.

Originally played at facilities in Palm Springs, the Indian Wells Masters was later moved to Rancho Mirage in California. For several years the Indian Wells Masters was played in La Quinta, before being moved to its permanent home at the Indian Wells Tennis Garden in 1987.

In 1996 the Indian Wells Masters became one of the first fully combined Masters Series tournaments, where both the men’s Masters Series event and the women’s Tier I event are hosted at the same venue over the same time period.

Indian Wells Masters Betting

The Indian Wells Masters tournament is a major tennis betting event, and the first high-profile tennis tournament to be held in the wake of the Australian Open. Ante-post markets for the event open in January, with a full range of betting options becoming available during the week of the tournament.

During the past decade the Indian Wells Masters has been dominated by the top ranked players in both men’s and women’s tennis. Players ranked in the top 3 have won the event on a consistent basis, hence outright winner bets on form players is always a good option at this event.

Indian Wells Masters Winners

Michael Chang and Roger Federer share the record for most Indian Wells Masters winners titles, with each player claiming three victories of the event. Chang’s dominance has been something of an anomaly, in a tournament which is traditionally won by the dominant player of that specific era.

The women’s competition at the Indian Wells Masters has not seen any particular player dominate for extended periods, but several players, including Kim Klijsters, Martina Navratilova and Serena Williams, share the tournament record of two Indian Wells Masters winners titles.

Back to top

Get Your Free Betting Guide

Get your free Sports Betting Guide packed full of useful tips, strategies and advice to make your betting more profitable.