ATP Cincinnati Masters

The Cincinnati Masters is the seventh stop on the Masters Series tour contested by the members of the ATP. The tournament is played on indoor hard courts at the Lindner Family Tennis Centre in the Cincinnati suburb of Mason in July and August.

As an important preliminary event to the US Open tennis tournament, the Cincinnati Masters tends to feature the best hard court players on the ATP tour. The main draw of the Cincinnati Masters features 32 players, who compete for over $2 million in prize money.

Cincinnati Masters History

The Cincinnati Masters is the oldest tennis tournament in the United States still hosted in its original city. The first tournament was played in 1899 as the Cincinnati Open, and was played on clay courts at Avondale Athletic Club.

Despite staying in its home city, the Cincinnati Open was displaced several times during its history, before finding a permanent home in the suburb of Mason in 1979. It was at this time that the tournament moved off clay and onto hard court, as a number of stadiums were custom-built to host the event.

Cincinnati Masters Betting

Unlike the grand slams, Masters Series events do not tend to attract comprehensive ante-post betting coverage from online sportsbooks. However, punters will benefit from a full selection of tennis betting options and opportunities immediately prior to the tournament.

While match-betting is always a potentially lucrative option when betting on tennis, punters may want to place outright winner bets on the top-ranked players at the Cincinnati Masters, particularly since top seeds routinely win the biggest tennis tournament in the American mid-West.

[[Cincinnati Masters]]

Cincinnati Masters Winners

The Cincinnati Masters only started attracting the top players in international tennis after moving to Mason in 1979. Prior to this move, the tournament had been dominated by American tennis players, with the occasional central American entry claiming the title.

Ivan Lendl was the first European to win the Cincinnati Masters, claiming the title in 1982. European players dominated the tournament for the next decade, taking all but one Cincinnati Masters winners title. During this period Mats Wilander set the tournament record for the open era as he claimed four titles.

Pete Sampras and Andrew Agassi sparked an American resurgence at the event during the 1990s, conceding only one tournament to a foreign player between 1992 and 2000.

Back to top

Get Your Free Betting Guide

Get your free Sports Betting Guide packed full of useful tips, strategies and advice to make your betting more profitable.