Rugby World Cup 2011 Betting Guide

Rugby World Cup 2007 Winners with President Thabo MbekiThe IRB Rugby World Cup is one of the biggest sporting events on the planet, and takes place every four years. The tournament attracts billions of television viewers across the globe, and currently ranks as the third most popular sports event in the world, with the Summer Olympics and FIFA Football World Cup occupying the top two positions.

In 2011 the IRB Rugby World Cup will take place in New Zealand, for the second time in the history of the tournament. The event is expected to be the biggest sports event in the country’s history, and will once again feature 20 teams, thereby giving the minnows of international rugby an opportunity to appear on its biggest stage.

Rugby World Cup Betting

Ante-post betting markets for the 2011 Rugby World Cup opened at the conclusion of the 2007 edition of the tournament. The early prices on the outright tournament winner are likely to be the best on offer, as odds are likely to contract as the tournament approaches.

The Rugby World Cup is the only rugby event that attracts universal coverage from online bookmakers. Sportsbooks with an emphasis on rugby betting such as Paddy Power and William Hill can be expected to offer a host of specials on the event, as well as excellent bet coverage that will allow punters to bet on all aspects of the game.

World Cup - World Cup - 15:42
Click red odds to strike a bet
New Zealand1/101/101/101/101/101/91/101/9

Rugby World Cup History

The first Rugby World Cup was co-hosted by New Zealand and Australia in 1987. Sixteen countries participated in the tournament with France and New Zealand as the finalists. The All Blacks triumphed in the finals, winning their only Rugby World Cup to date.

The next edition of the tournament was hosted in England, with Australia claiming their first title against England in the final.

The 1995 Rugby World Cup was regarded as the first true global tournament, as it featured the South African team for the first time in the tournament’s history. The Springboks won the event in a memorable final against New Zealand.

The tournament continued to prosper during the next decade, with fans flocking to attend the World Cup tournaments in Wales and Australia. The Australian Rugby World Cup marked the transition of the event into a tournament with real international significance, as hundreds of millions tuned in around the globe.

The 2007 World Cup is regarded as having been the most successful in the tournament’s history. The event generated massive profits for the IRB, and provided an exceptional spectacle where many of the minnows of international rugby put in courageous performances against the traditional rugby powers. The climax of the 2007 Rugby World Cup saw South Africa claim their second trophy in a tight encounter against England, the defending champions.

Rugby World Cup Winners

Four teams have won the Rugby World Cup in the history of the tournament. New Zealand and England have one Rugby World Cup winners title each, while South Africa and Australia have both won the Rugby World Cup twice. France is the only team, other than the Rugby World Cup winners, to have progressed to the finals, when they finished as runners-up in 1987 and 1999.

Paddy Power £20 Free Bet

  • Join Paddy Power
  • Place a bet £20
  • Get £20 cash back!

Paddy Power is a 5 star rated Sportsbook. You can read the Paddy Power Review to learn why.

Back to top

Get Your Free Betting Guide

Get your free Sports Betting Guide packed full of useful tips, strategies and advice to make your betting more profitable.