Tingle Creek Chase

The Tingle Creek Chase is one of the 2 mile steeplechase highlights of the national hunt season. The race takes place in early December at Sandown Racecourse and attracts some of the highest rated chasers in national hunt racing.

The Tingle Creek Chase is run over a distance 2 miles, with racehorses required to clear 13 fences during the course of the race. The event is open to 5 year old and above racehorses, and tends to feature racehorses who will go on to compete in the Queen Mother Champion Chase.

First run in 1979, the Tingle Creek Chase is named in honour of Tingle Creek, a popular Irish racehorse who earned widespread recognition after a series of brilliant performances at Sandown in the 1970s.

Tingle Creek Chase Betting

The Tingle Creek Chase is the first Grade 1 2 mile race of the national hunt season, providing an early glimpse of the horses likely to compete in the Queen Mother Champion Chase at the end of the season. The field for the race tends to be small, with fewer than ten entries the norm. There is usually one stand-out entry in the field, who’ll top both the ratings and the odds tables.

The Tingle Creek Chase reliably rewards class racehorses, and the highest rated horse in the field wins the race with rare exceptions. In most cases this horse is also the antepost favourite, and backing the favourite has paid off as a strategy in this race in recent years – even the places tend to be fairly true to the ratings of the horses. Keep it simple for this race and back the highest rated horse in the field.

Tingle Creek Chase Odds

England - Tingle Creek - 15:00
Click red odds to strike a bet
Balder Succes9/49/45/25/25/2
God's Own7/29/27/27/24
Oscar Whisky787613/2
Dodging Bullets810889
Wishfull Thinking-10---
Claret Cloak-16---
Felix Yonger-16---
Third Intention2020202025
William's Wishes2025201616
Pepite Rose2533252516
Mad Moose-66---
Oscar Hill-66---

Tingle Creek Chase Winners

The list of Tingle Creek Chase Winners features some of the highest rated chasers of recent times. Past champions include the legendary Desert Orchid, two times winner Waterloo Boy and Flagship Uberalles, who holds the race record of 3 Tingle Creek Chase winners titles.

Since the turn of the millennium the Tingle Creek Chase has been won twice by both Moscow Flyer and Kauto Star. Trainer Paul Nicholls claimed a rare Tingle Creek Chase hat-trick when Twist Magic followed up Kauto Star’s double with a win in 2007. In 2008 Nicholls scored again with brilliant 2 mile specialist and Queen Mother Champion Chase winner, Master Minded. Twist Magic won the race for a second time in 2009, becoming the first racehorse to win back the Tingle Creek Chase.

Today's Racing Betting Specials

Paddy Power will refund your losing single as a free bet if your selection finishes 2nd to the SP favourite in ANY race at selected racecourse every day!

Get a 100% racing bonus when you place your first bet from any mobile device or tablet at Bet365!

Back a winner at 4/1 or higher in any race broadcast live on Channel 4 at Bet365 and you'll get a free bet of the same value to place on the next race. Cash in now!

Back a winner in a bet365 featured race at odds of 4/1 or higher and you'll score a free bet of equal value to use on the next race on the card. Get this offer now!

Bet365 pays out on disqualified horses and official winners on all win and each way bets on Horse Racing in the UK and Ireland. Get this offer from Bet365.

Stan James £10 Free Bet

  • Join StanJames
  • Bet £10 get £10 matched
  • Simple free bet offer!

Stan James is a 3.5 star rated Sportsbook. You can read the Stan James Review to learn why.

Back to top

Get Your Free Betting Guide

Get your free Sports Betting Guide packed full of useful tips, strategies and advice to make your betting more profitable.