Epsom Derby Race Guide

Epsom Derby - English Classic RacingThe Jewel in the crown of English thoroughbred racing, the Epsom Derby is the world’s premier race for 3-year-old middle-distance thoroughbred racehorses.

The event is run over 1 mile 4 furlongs at Epsom Downs racecourse in June, with entry open to open to 3-year old colts and fillies. The Epsom Derby was first run in 1780, and was named after the organiser, the 12th Earl of Derby.

Epsom Derby Odds

Saturday, June 04, 2016 - Epsom Downs - 16:30
Click red odds to strike a bet
Us Army Ranger7/27/27/27/2
Wings Of Desire66611/2
Cloth Of Stars815/288
Moonlight Magic14141414
Port Douglas20202020
Red Verdon20202020
Across The Stars25252525
Humphrey Bogart25252525

Epsom Derby Betting

While the Epsom Derby is one of a handful of major thoroughbred races to attract significant betting activity from beyond the regular racing community, it is one of the trickiest Group 1 flat races to call. The markets tend to favour the winner of the previous month’s 2,000 Guineas, but the extra 4 furlongs in the Derby has a habit of separating the milers from the true middle-distance champions.

In the last 20 years only two horses have won the Guineas before taking a win in the Derby, and those that have achieved the double tend to rank amongst the finest racehorses in the history of the sport. You’re therefore better off looking out for horses with proven staying power than throwing your money behind the Guineas champion. The Grade 2 Dante Stakes is a good place to look for a potential Derby winner, with the winner and runner-up in that race frequently winning or placing in the Derby.

Also look out for entries who placed in both the Irish and English 2,000 Guineas, particularly horses who were gaining on the Guineas winner close to the finish post – a useful tell for staying potential.

Epsom Derby Winners

The Epsom Derby winners that have gone on to win the Triple Crown deserve special mention. In the history of the race only 15 horses have won the Epsom Derby after winning the 2,000 Guineas, and prior to winning the St. Leger.

This feat has been achieved only once since the end of the 2nd World War. In 1970 the legendary racehorse Nijinsky won all three of the Triple Crown classics and became the last horse to win the Triple Crown.

It is unlikely that his feat will be replicated again, with trainers now preferring to send the winner of the Derby on to the Prix de l’Arc de Triopmh in France rather than pushing them over a stayers’ distance in the St. Leger.

Today's Racing Betting Specials

Paddy Power will refund your losing single as a free bet if your selection finishes 2nd to the SP favourite in ANY race at selected racecourse every day!

Get a 100% racing bonus when you place your first bet from any mobile device or tablet at Bet365!

Back a winner at 4/1 or higher in any race broadcast live on Channel 4 at Bet365 and you'll get a free bet of the same value to place on the next race. Cash in now!

Back a winner in a bet365 featured race at odds of 4/1 or higher and you'll score a free bet of equal value to use on the next race on the card. Get this offer now!

Bet365 pays out on disqualified horses and official winners on all win and each way bets on Horse Racing in the UK and Ireland. Get this offer from Bet365.

Paddy Power £20 Free Bet

  • Join Paddy Power
  • Place a bet £20
  • Get £20 cash back!

Paddy Power is a 5 star rated Sportsbook. You can read the Paddy Power Review to learn why.

Back to top

Get Your Free Betting Guide

Get your free Sports Betting Guide packed full of useful tips, strategies and advice to make your betting more profitable.