1,000 Guineas Betting

1000 Guineas WinnerThe 1,000 Guineas is the second leg of the early season Classics duo, the Guineas. The 1,000 Guineas is run in late April or early May every year, on the day following the running of the 2,000 Guineas. Entry to the race is restricted to 3-year old fillies.

Like the 2,000 Guineas, the 1,000 Guineas is run over a distance of 1 mile on the Rowley mile at Newmarket racecourse. The race dates back to 1814 when Charlotte, ridden by Bill Clift, became the first 1,000 Guineas Winner. Today the 1,000 Guineas is worth over £350,000 in prize money.

1,000 Guineas Odds

England - QIPCO 1000 Guineas - 15:15
Click red odds to strike a bet
Jellicle Ball10
Local Time16
Tiggy Wiggy20
Irish Rookie25
Queen Nefertiti25

1,000 Guineas Betting

The 1,000 Guineas carries the same challenges and rewards for punters as the 2,000 Guineas. Like the other early-season Classic, the 1,000 Guineas draws fields of 3-year-olds who will often be running their first race in this age group. This leaves punters having to gauge the prospects of entries based on their form during their 2-year-old season, with winners of the Grade 1 races from that season usually emerging as favourites.

However, form in the 2-year-old season only rarely converts into the following season, and it is not unusual for relatively unfancied horses to come to the fore in the Guineas and then perform strongly over 1 mile to 1.5 mile distances for the remainder of the season. Your best bet is to look out for horses who showed significant form improvements over the latter half of the 2-year-old season. Even if these horses did not win major races towards the end of their previous season, places achieved after otherwise unremarkable runs of results show the kind of improvements that can be carried into the next season.

1,000 Guineas Winners

Only a handful of thoroughbred racehorses have won the 1,000 Guineas and then gone on to achieve other notable race wins. Some of the champions blooded by this event include 1984 1,000 Guineas winner, Pebbles. Hatoof won the race in 1992, before going on to win a series of major international races, including the Beverley Stakes.

The 1,000 Guineas produced its most successful jockey in the mid 1800s when George Fordam saddled eight 1,000 Guineas winners. The most successful 1,000 Guineas winner of recent times is Kieran Fallon, who won the race on four occasions between 1997 and 2007.

In the last two decades the 1,000 Guineas winners title has been passed around amongst the top trainers in flat racing. Saaed bin Surror, Sir Michael Stoute, Jim Dunlop and Henry Cecil have all taken multiple 1,000 Guineas race titles in the last thirty years.

Today's Racing Betting Specials

Paddy Power will refund your losing single as a free bet if your selection finishes 2nd to the SP favourite in ANY race at selected racecourse every day!

Get a 100% racing bonus when you place your first bet from any mobile device or tablet at Bet365!

Back a winner at 4/1 or higher in any race broadcast live on Channel 4 at Bet365 and you'll get a free bet of the same value to place on the next race. Cash in now!

Back a winner in a bet365 featured race at odds of 4/1 or higher and you'll score a free bet of equal value to use on the next race on the card. Get this offer now!

Bet365 pays out on disqualified horses and official winners on all win and each way bets on Horse Racing in the UK and Ireland. Get this offer from Bet365.

Paddy Power £20 Free Bet

  • Join Paddy Power
  • Place a bet £20
  • Get £20 cash back!

Paddy Power is a 5 star rated Sportsbook. You can read the Paddy Power Review to learn why.

Back to top

Get Your Free Betting Guide

Get your free Sports Betting Guide packed full of useful tips, strategies and advice to make your betting more profitable.