PGA Championship Golf Guide

Putting to win PGA ChampionshipThe PGA Championship is the last of the four Majors contested annually by the top players of the PGA Tour and the European PGA Tour. The PGA Championship is often referred to as “Glory’s Last shot”, because it is the last opportunity for professional golfers to win a Major championship in a season.

Being a nomadic event, the PGA Championship has been held at some obscure courses over the course of its history. However, in recent years a trend has emerged with a preference for a small selection of top golf courses to host the event.

The PGA Championship is played during August, and draws a field of 156 professional golfers. The tournament is the only Major not to offer places to top ranked amateur golfers, instead, positions in the field are offered to 20 professional golfers from the host club.

PGA Championship Betting

The PGA Championship receives full betting coverage from all online UK sportsbooks. Ante-post betting markets are open 12 months of the year, allowing punters to capitalise on high pre-tournament odds. Betting specials for the PGA Championship become available during the weeks leading up to the tournament.

PGA Championship History

As one of the more recent additions to the Majors, the PGA Championship has as yet to pass its centennial tournament. The event was first held at Siwanoy Country Club in New York in 2006, and awarded a purse of $500 to the first winner, Jim Barnes.

For the first half of its history the PGA Championship was a match-play tournament. However, the format was changed in 1958 to stroke-play, mainly due to the demands of live television coverage which benefited from the presence of a wide selection of big name golfers on the final day of the tournament.

PGA Championship Winners

The two greatest players in the history of the PGA Championship played during two different eras. Golfing legend, Walter Hagen, dominated the tournament during its match-play years by winning the PGA Championship five times, including four consecutive victories between 1924 and 1927.

Jack Nicklaus reigned supreme after the format was changed to stroke-play, winning the PGA Championship five times between 1963 and 1980. In recent years Tiger Woods has threatened to topple the records held by Nicklaus and Hagen, winning the PGA Championship four times since 1999.

Boylesports £20 Free Bet

  • Simply register a new Boylesports account
  • Place your first bet with a stake of £/€20
  • Receive a free bet to the value of £/€20.

Boylesports is a 4.5 star rated Sportsbook. You can read the Boylesports Review to learn why.

Back to top

Get Your Free Betting Guide

Get your free Sports Betting Guide packed full of useful tips, strategies and advice to make your betting more profitable.