Italian Serie A Betting Guide

Serie A is the top ranked football league in Italy, and one of the elite football leagues in Europe. Serie A is the home of some of the most famous and successful clubs in world football, including Inter Milan, Juventus and AC Milan.

Serie A is contested between 20 Italian football clubs, competing in a round robin, home and away league. The four highest ranked clubs at the end of the season qualify for the Champions League, while the three lowest ranked clubs are relegated to the second division.

Serie A Betting

Serie A betting opportunities are available throughout the European football season, with antepost outright winner betting markets also available during the off season.

All Serie A games are covered by bookmakers in the United Kingdom, although the number of markets opened for each game will vary between sportsbooks. Live betting opportunities are also available during Serie A games from the better live betting sites.

European Leagues - Serie A TIM -
Click red odds to strike a bet
AC Milan1/1000-1/500NQ

Serie A History

The Serie A was created in 1927 in an attempt to organise a somewhat haphazard regional competition schedule in Italy. With two separate governing bodies regulating football in the North and South of the country, the decision was made to create a primary league and divide the existing teams into two divisions.

By 1929 the format and structure of Serie A had been formalised, although political infighting continued for decades, leading to fluctuations in the number of clubs represented in the first division, with anywhere between 16 and 25 clubs participating in the Serie A in any given season.

Since 1924 the winner of Serie A has been presented with the Scudetto, a shield bearing the Italian flag, which is represented on the Serie A champions’ shirts for the duration of the season following their championship win.

Serie A Winners

The Serie A has been dominated by three clubs during its history, with AC Milan, Inter Milan and Juventus accounting for over half of the Serie A titles won since 1929. Juventus is by far the most successful of the Serie A clubs, having claimed the Serie A winners’ title on 27 occasions.

The most successful clubs in Italian football are awarded the Golden Star for Sports Excellence, with a star awarded for every ten domestic titles won by a club. Juventus players currently bear two stars on their jerseys, while Inter Milan and AC Milan players bear a single star.

Back to top

Get Your Free Betting Guide

Get your free Sports Betting Guide packed full of useful tips, strategies and advice to make your betting more profitable.