The PDC World Championship

PDC World Darts ChampionshipThe PDC World Championship is the Professional Darts Corporation’s most prestigious tournament. The event was contested for the first time in 1994 following the Professional Darts Corporation’s split from the British Darts Organisation.

The PDC World Championship is presently hosted by Alexandra Palace in London. The event is played during December and January to prevent fixture clashes with the BDO World Championship.

All PDC World Championship matches are covered by SKY broadcasting on satellite television.

PDC World Championship Betting

PDC Championship League Darts - PDC Championship League Darts -
Click red odds to strike a bet
Taylor, P2/54/112/52/52/52/52/51/32/52/51/5
Whitlock, S13/211/26613/213/265662
Wade, J88988887883
Newton, W202020202022202225204
Tabern, A222020202220201825204
Beaton, S283325282833252033334
Jones, W666666666666668066504
Stompé, C808080808066668080664
van der Voort, V1001001001001001251001001251004
Klaasen, J150125100125150801251501101254
Ovens, D12510080125125100150661251254
Priestley, D1251501001251251001251251751254
Dudbridge, M2502001502002502001502001501504
Webster, M2501501501502501502001501501504
Smith, A3002001502003002002502502501504

Many regard the PDC World Championship as being more prestigious than the BDO World Championship. Not only does the event attract many of the finest darts players in the world, but also offers a bigger prize fund, presently valued at £735,000.

PDC World Championship History

The Professional Darts Corporation was set up in 1992 by a group of professional darts players, in an attempt to revitalise the game in the face of perceived mismanagement by the British Darts Organisation, the game’s traditional ruling body.

The first PDC World Championship was played in 1994 after a wrangle between the players of the new PDC and the BDO. The breakaway group signed a deal with SKY, and roped in some of the leading names in the sport.

The PDC World Championship took several years to build momentum, however, by the turn of the millenium the event had reached even footing with the British Darts Organisation, and in 2002 the prize money offered by the PDC event exceeded that of the BDO World Championship for the first time.

PDC World Championship

Bookmakers in the United Kingdom recognised the PDC World Championship as one of the most important darts events of the year, and therefore provide extensive coverage of the tournament. Outright winner markets are opened well in advance of the championship, with additional darts betting markets opened during the event.

PDC World Championship Winners

UK darts legend Phil Taylor dominated the PDC World Championship for many years, winning the title 11 times between 1995 and 2006, with Dennis Priestly the losing player on 4 of those occasions. Canadian John Part was the only player to defeat Taylor during his record-setting run, and has won the event twice. In 2007 four times Dutch BDO World Championship winner Raymond van Barneveld won his first PDC World Championship title.

Bet365 £200 Free Bet

  • Open your new account at Bet365
  • Place your 1st bet and Bet365 gives you your 1st free bet
  • Bet365 will then continue to give you more free bets as you punt up to £200

Bet365 is a 5 star rated Sportsbook. You can read the Bet365 Review to learn why.

Back to top

Get Your Free Betting Guide

Get your free Sports Betting Guide packed full of useful tips, strategies and advice to make your betting more profitable.