Test Cricket Betting Guide

Test Cricket BettingTest cricket is regarded by purists as the most demanding version of the sport. Test matches are played over 5 days by the national teams of the top cricket playing nations and are structured to allow both teams to bat and bowl twice during the game.

For many years test cricket was the only version of the sport played at international level. However, the creation of one day cricket in the 1950s initially cast a shadow over the traditional form of the game, and attendances slowly dwindled.

In recent years, however, test cricket has experienced a resurgence as new fans have been brought to the game by shorter versions of the game. Test series between top cricketing nations are regarded as major sporting highlights, and attendances are increasing steadily as new fans take to this elegant, but grueling form of cricket.

Test Cricket Betting

Major test cricket encounters are greeted with enthusiasm by online sportsbooks, who offer a wide variety of betting options on big games. Punters can also benefit from free bets and betting specials during major cricket series such as the Ashes.

International Test Cricket

While several test series are played between test playing nations every year, a small selection of confrontations are of special importance:

  • The Ashes: The oldest rivalry in cricket is renewed every 18 months when England, the founders the game, take on Australia in a five test series
  • India vs Pakistan: Geopolitical and religious rivalries are frequently brought to the boil when test matches are played between the two giants of the cricket-mad subcontinent. The quality of play on offer is world class and fans witness some of the most competitive tests in cricket
  • Australia vs South Africa: With neither team ever far from the summit of the test cricket rankings, test series between South Africa and Australia are some of the most hard-fought events in test cricket

ICC Test Cricket Member Nations

International test cricket is contested only between the 10 countries designated as official test-playing nations by the International Cricket Council. In recent years two new admissions have been made to this elite group, with Bangladesh and Zimbabwe earning test status. These countries are:

  • Australia
  • South Africa
  • India
  • New Zealand
  • Pakistan
  • England
  • Sri Lanka
  • Bangladesh
  • West Indies
  • Zimbabwe

Ladbrokes £25 Free Bet

  • Join Ladbrokes promo code F25
  • Place a bet
  • Bet matched up to £25

Ladbrokes is a 4 star rated Sportsbook. You can read the Ladbrokes Review to learn why.

Back to top

Get Your Free Betting Guide

Get your free Sports Betting Guide packed full of useful tips, strategies and advice to make your betting more profitable.