The Australian Football League

Ozzie Rules Football BettingThe Australian Football League is the highest level professional Australian-rules football league in Australia.

The AFL is Australia’s most popular sports league, both in terms of crowd attendances and television viewing figures. The AFL is also the dominant football code used in the majority of Australia’s states, and is enjoying rapid growth in the traditional rugby league strongholds of New South Wales and Queensland.

The Australian Football League comprises 16 clubs, with the majority of these based in the state of Victoria. The Australian Football League season runs for 22 rounds during the summer months, and the top 8 clubs at the conclusion of the regular season, progress on to the finals series.

This knockout series runs for three weeks, and produces the two contestants for the AFL Grand Final, which is regarded as one of the biggest Australian sports events of the year.

Australian Football League Betting

Whilst Australian Football is not played professionally beyond the borders of Australia, the league is followed by sports fans around the world, and has a large expatriate audience in Great Britain. This results in AFL matches receiving excellent coverage from a selection of UK bookmakers, who open a wide selection of betting markets for each AFL match.

Antepost betting on the AFL is open throughout the year with the majority of the UK’s best bookmakers offering odds on the outright winners of the tournament. Due to the fact that the tournament is very open and competitive, these markets can provide excellent value. However, the use of odds-checkers ensures that Australian Football League fans have access to the highest prices when backing their favourite clubs.

Australian Football League History

The Australian Football League has its roots in the city of Melbourne, the birthplace of Australian Rules football. Founded in the late 19th century, the Victoria Football League and the Victorian Football Associations provided the platform for the first Australian rules club contests in the country.

For decades the Victorian Football League dominated the sport in Australia, with leagues in other states having to play second fiddle to the Victoria league in terms of both attendances and public interest. It was only in the 1980s that this league began to assimilate Australian rules clubs from other states, while some popular Melbourne-based franchises relocated to other states.

The expansion of the Victorian Football League continued into the 1990s and resulted in the league being renamed as the Australian Football League, to reflect the nationwide reach and popularity of the tournament.

Bet365 £200 Free Bet

  • Open your new account at Bet365
  • Place your 1st bet and Bet365 gives you your 1st free bet
  • Bet365 will then continue to give you more free bets as you punt up to £200

Bet365 is a 5 star rated Sportsbook. You can read the Bet365 Review to learn why.

Back to top

Get Your Free Betting Guide

Get your free Sports Betting Guide packed full of useful tips, strategies and advice to make your betting more profitable.