Ascot Gold Cup Race Guide

The Ascot Gold Cup is England’s biggest Group One race outside the Classics. The race is the highlight of Ladies Day at the Royal Ascot meeting, traditionally the most popular and well-attended day of flat racing’s most prestigious meeting.

The Ascot Gold Cup is open only to four-year old and older thoroughbreds. The race distance is significantly longer than other top Group One races, at 2 miles 4 furlongs, giving it a unique character whilst demanding tremendous speed and stamina from runners.

Although easily the most important race run during the Royal Ascot meeting, the Ascot Gold Cup is not the oldest race contested at the meeting. The first Ascot Gold Cup was run in 1807, almost 100 years after racing started at Ascot.

Ascot Gold Cup Odds

Thursday, June 19, 2014 - Ascot - 16:25
Click red odds to strike a bet
Leading Light10/11
Brown Panther5
Pale Mimosa-
Tac De Boistron-
Royal Diamond16
Saddler's Rock40
Oriental Fox40
Ralston Road66
Havana Beat100

Ascot Gold Cup Winners

The Ascot Gold Cup is one of only a few Group One races run in England which champion racehorses can contest more than once in their careers. This not only contributes to the race’s unique character, but also affords top thoroughbreds the opportunity to build celebrity reputations for themselves in the event.

Very few Ascot Gold Cup winners have managed to capture the title more than once. The most famous amongst those to have achieved this feat is Sagaro, who holds the distinction of being the only thoroughbred racehorse to have won the Ascot Gold Cup on three occasions.

Trainer Saeed bin Suroor is the undisputed master of the Ascot Gold Cup. The trainer from the United Arab Emirates has won the race on four occasions, capturing the Ascot Gold Cup winner’s title for the first time in 1996.

Ascot Gold Cup Race

Comments are closed.

Paddy Power £20 Free Bet

  • Join Paddy Power
  • Place a bet £20
  • Get £20 cash back!

Paddy Power is a 5 star rated Sportsbook. You can read the Paddy Power Review to learn why.

Royal Ascot Day One Races
Queen Anne Stakes
Kings Stand Stakes
St James Palace Stakes
Coventry Stakes
Ascot Stakes
Windsor Castle Stakes
Royal Ascot Day Two Races
Jersey Stakes
Windsor Forest Stakes
Prince of Wales Stakes
Royal Hunt Cup
Queen Mary Stakes
Sandringham Stakes
Royal Ascot Day Three Races
Norfolk Stakes
Ribblesdale Stakes
Ascot Gold Cup
Britannia Stakes
Hampton Court Stakes
King George V Stakes
Royal Ascot Day Four Races
Albany Stakes
King Edward VII Stakes
Coronation Stakes
Wolferton Handicap Stakes
Queens Vase
Buckingham Palace Stakes
Royal Ascot Day Five Races
Chesham Stakes
Hardwicke Stakes
Golden Jubilee Stakes
Wokingham Stakes
Duke of Edinburgh Stakes
Queen Alexandra Stakes
Back to top