Formula One Drivers

While the constructors participating in Formula One racing absorb all the costs of involvement in the sport, and are to a considerable extent responsible for the outcome of Formula One races, it is the drivers participating in Formula One racing who steal the limelight in the sport.

Formula One drivers are some of the best known and wealthiest sports stars in the world, and attract supporters from across the globe. Although driving skills have become somewhat secondary to the performance of a Formula One car, these individuals are respected for their courage, strength, reflexes and the driving skill required to participate in the sport.

Formula One Drivers’ Championship

The drivers participating in each Formula One season all compete in the Formula One Drivers’ Championship. The Formula One Drivers’ Championship is awarded by the FIA to the most successful driver in a single Formula One season.

Points towards the Drivers’ Championship are awarded to the drivers who finish in the top eight at each Formula One grand prix.

Ten points are awarded to the race winner, with another 30 points shared between the drivers finishing from 2nd to 8th place. The winner of the Drivers’ Championship is not awarded the Drivers’ Championship Trophy until the conclusion of the season, even if they achieved an unbeatable points tally earlier on in the season.

Formula One Drivers’ Championship History

In over a hundred years of racing only 29 drivers have won the Formula One Drivers’ Championship. The most successful of these was German driver Michael Schumacher, who won seven championships racing for Benetton and Ferrari between 1994 and 2004. Schumacher also holds the record for most consecutive Formula One Drivers’ Championships won, by winning the title five times between 2000 and 2005.

Formula One – Driver Profiles

Each Formula One team employs two racing drivers and up to three test drivers. Test drivers sometimes participate in races when racing drivers are injured or withdraw from their teams for other reasons. This means that anywhere between 20 and 30 drivers could appear in the Drivers’ Championship rankings at the conclusion of each season.

The twenty drivers participating in the current Formula One Drivers’ Championship are:

1 Lewis Hamilton – McLaren Mercedes

2 Felipe Massa – Ferrari

3 Kimi Räikkönen – Ferrari

4 Robert Kubica – BMW Sauber

5 Heikki Kovalainen – McLaren Mercedes

6 Nick Heidfeld – BMW Sauber

7 Jarno Trulli – Toyota

8 Fernando Alonso – Renault

9 Mark Webber – Red Bull

10 Timo Glock – Toyota

11 Nelsinho Piquet – Renault

12 Rubens Barrichello – Honda

13 Nico Rosberg – Williams Toyota

14 Sebastian Vettel – Toro Rosso

15 Kazuki Nakajima – Williams-Toyota

16 David Coulthard – Red Bull

17 Jenson Button – Honda

18 Sebastien Bourdais – Toro Rosso

19 Giancarlo Fisichella – Force India

20 Adrian Sutil – Force India

Ladbrokes £25 Free Bet

  • Join Ladbrokes promo code F25
  • Place a bet
  • Bet matched up to £25

Ladbrokes is a 4 star rated Sportsbook. You can read the Ladbrokes Review to learn why.

Formula One Rankings
Position Driver Pts
Back to top