British Grand Prix

The British Grand Prix dates back to 1926, and other than the Italian Grand Prix, is the only grand prix to have been staged without disruption since the Formula World Championship was launched in 1950. The current home of the British Grand Prix is the Silverstone Circuit in England.

Laps: 60
Lap Distance: 5.141km
Race Distance: 308.355km

Silverstone Circuit

The Silverstone Circuit has hosted the British Grand Prix every year since 1987, however, the association between Silverstone and the British Grand Prix stretches back further, with the British Grand Prix first hosted at the famous racetrack in 1948.

The Silverstone Circuit is a high-speed racetrack with 18 corners. The track was one of the Formula One circuits to undergo extensive safety modifications after the deaths of both Ayrton Senna and Roland Ratzenberger in 1991, but retains some of the fastest corners in Formula One racing.

British Grand Prix History

The first British Grand Prix was raced at Brooklands in 1926, and was initiated by the winner of the 1923 French Grand Prix, Henry Seagrave. The race continued as an independent grand prix event until 1950 when the British Grand Prix was used to launch the newly formed Formula One World Championship.

For most of its early history the British Grand Prix was one of the fastest in motor sport, with numerous high-speed corners. However, in 1991 the nature of the British Grand Prix changed significantly when new safety measures caused some of the more dangerous corners to be re-engineered.

In recent years there has been some controversy over the continued use of Silverstone as a venue for the British Grand Prix. At times tensions between race organisers and Formula One authorities have been so severe that the race has been struck from the World Championship entirely, requiring desperate negotiations to keep it within the Formula One fold.

The Future of the British Grand Prix

Whilst the British Grand Prix was momentarily erased from the race schedule in 2004, it is unlikely that the race will become a casualty of the global expansion of the sport. Silverstone will, however, relinquish its most famous race after 2009.

In 2008 it was announced that the British Grand Prix race will be moved to Donnington Park on conclusion of the 2009 Formula One World Championship. Donnington has secured the rights to host the British Grand Prix from 2010 to 2020.

Ladbrokes £25 Free Bet

  • Join Ladbrokes promo code F25
  • Place a bet
  • Bet matched up to £25

Ladbrokes is a 4 star rated Sportsbook. You can read the Ladbrokes Review to learn why.

Formula One Rankings
Position Driver Pts
Back to top