Brazilian Grand Prix

The Brazilian Grand Prix is one of the concluding races of the Formula One World Championship. First held in 1972, the Brazilian Grand Prix is raced at the Autódromo José Carlos Pace in Interlagos (often referred to as the Interlagos circuit), and is the only Grand Prix currently raced in South America.

Laps: 71
Lap Distance: 4.309km
Race Distance: 305.909km

Interlagos Circuit

The Interlagos is one of the few racetracks in Formula One racing that is raced in an anti-clockwise direction. Opened in the 1930s to host motor races, the Interlagos circuit has featured several different course layouts during its history, with the most recent introduced in 1990.

The Interlagos racetrack is built on hilly ground in the city of Sao Paolo, which means that drivers experience significant changes in elevation during races at the circuit. The circuit features an unusually long straight, along with a lengthy curving section, which subjects drivers to strong g forces.

Despite these potentially hazardous features, the Interlagos racetrack is virtually unique in that it has never suffered a driver fatality.

Brazilian Grand Prix History

The inaugural Brazilian Grand Prix was raced in 1972. The original race was not a Formula One World Championship event, and it was only incorporated into the Formula One racing schedule the following year. In 1977 race organisers made the decision to move the Brazilian Grand Prix to the Jacarepaguá track in Rio de Janeiro.

Apart from a brief return to Interlagos during the 1980s, the Brazilian Grand Prix was raced at Jacarepaguá until 1989. The race moved back to Interlagos in 1990 and has been raced at this venue ever since.

The challenging layout of the Interlagos circuit has produced some of the most exciting grand prix in recent memory, including the win by Giancarlo Fisichella in the 2003 Brazilian Grand Prix, which was also the Jordan team’s fourth and final Grand Prix win.

The Future of the Brazilian Grand Prix

In March 2008 the mayor of Sao Paolo announced that the city had signed a deal with Bernie Ecclestone to ensure the future of the Brazilian Grand Prix.

Ecclestone later confirmed that a new deal had been struck with the race organisers, which will ensure that the Brazilian Grand Prix will remain on the Formula One World Championship calendar until at least 2015.

Bet365 £200 Free Bet

  • Open your new account at Bet365
  • Place your 1st bet and Bet365 gives you your 1st free bet
  • Bet365 will then continue to give you more free bets as you punt up to £200

Bet365 is a 5 star rated Sportsbook. You can read the Bet365 Review to learn why.

Formula One Rankings
Position Driver Pts
Back to top