Kim Muir Challenge Cup

The Kim Muir Challenge Cup is a class B handicap steeplechase raced on the Cheltenham New Course during the annual Cheltenham Festival. The race covers a distance of 3 miles 110 furlongs.

The Kim Muir Challenge Cup is open to 5 year old and older steeplechasers. Only amateur jockeys are permitted to race in the Kim Muir Challenge Cup. The race is generally regarded as the most unpredictable event at the Cheltenham Festival.

Kim Muir Challenge Cup Odds

Thursday, March 12, 2015 - Cheltenham - 16:40
Click red odds to strike a bet
Champagne James108
Gold Bullet109
Masters Hill1012
The Package1210
Buddy Bolero1416
Grand Vision1416
Just A Par1612
Tap Night1414
The Ould Lad1614
Vintage Star1616
Clondaw Knight1620
Guess Again1616
Standing Ovation1620
Benbane Head1625
Bless The Wings2014
Grandads Horse2025
The Nephew2016
Across The Bay3340
Sixty Something3333

Kim Muir Challenge Cup History and Winners

Originally known as the Kim Muir Amateur Riders’ Steeplechase, the Kim Muir Challenge Cup was first raced at the Cheltenham Festival in 1946. Evan Williams sponsored the race and named the event after her brother a British cavalry officer who died during the Second World War.

In 1991 the race was renamed the Fulke Walwyn Kim Muir Challenge Cup to commemorate the career of the Cheltenham Festival’s most famous trainer, Fulke Walwyn. Cool Dawn is the only horse to have won the Kim Muir Challenge Cup and then gone on to win the Cheltenham Gold Cup.

Kim Muir Challenge Cup Results

Full 2014 Kim Muir Challenge Cup Result
Pos Dist Horse Trainer Age Weight Jockey SP
1st   11 Spring Heeled (IRE) J H Culloty 7 11-6 p Mr R P McNamara 12/1
2nd 8 Cause Of Causes (USA) G Elliott 6 11-8 Ms N Carberry 13/2
3rd 17 1 Roberto Goldback (IRE) N J Henderson 12 11-12 Mr S Waley-Cohen 16/1
4th 13 Balnaslow (IRE) W P Mullins 7 11-4 Mr P W Mullins 9/1
5th 8 6 Same Difference (IRE) N A Twiston-Davies 8 11-9 v Mr J Bargary (7) 16/1
6th 17 Pickamus (FR) H D Daly 11 11-3 Miss J C Williams (5) 66/1
7th 5 7 Indian Castle (IRE) D McCain Jnr 6 11-8 Mr Derek O’Connor 7/2f
8th ¾ 21 Gas Line Boy (IRE) P J Hobbs 8 11-1 h Mr C Gethings (7) 25/1
9th 2 4 Our Father (IRE) D Pipe 8 11-10 b1 Mr D Edwards (3) 11/1
10th ½ 24 Problema Tic (FR) D Pipe 8 10-13 bt Mr S Fox (5) 25/1
11th 6 10 Swing Bill (FR) D Pipe 13 11-6 Mr M Heard (7) 33/1
12th 36 22 Quinz (FR) P J Hobbs 10 11-0 Mr C Smith (7) 28/1
NR   12 Dursey Sound (IRE) Jonjo O’Neill 6 11-5 Mr J J Burke (3) 40/1

Today's Racing Betting Specials

Paddy Power will refund your losing single as a free bet if your selection finishes 2nd to the SP favourite in ANY race at selected racecourse every day!

Get a 100% racing bonus when you place your first bet from any mobile device or tablet at Bet365!

Back a winner at 4/1 or higher in any race broadcast live on Channel 4 at Bet365 and you'll get a free bet of the same value to place on the next race. Cash in now!

Back a winner in a bet365 featured race at odds of 4/1 or higher and you'll score a free bet of equal value to use on the next race on the card. Get this offer now!

Bet365 pays out on disqualified horses and official winners on all win and each way bets on Horse Racing in the UK and Ireland. Get this offer from Bet365.

Boylesports £20 Free Bet

  • Simply register a new Boylesports account
  • Place your first bet with a stake of £/€20
  • Receive a free bet to the value of £/€20.

Boylesports is a 4.5 star rated Sportsbook. You can read the Boylesports Review to learn why.

Back to top