Champion Hurdle

The Champion Hurdle is the climax of Britain’s national hunt hurdling season and the first major race of the Cheltenham Festival. The third race of day one of the Cheltenham Festival is renowned for producing exciting tight finishes between the top hurdlers in the world.

Open to five year old and above horses, the Champion Hurdle is run over a distance of 2 miles 110 yards on the Cheltenham Old Course. Competitors in the Champion Hurdle are required to take on eight hurdles at full speed, making for a fast-paced race.

Champion Hurdle Odds

England - Champion Hurdle - 15:20
Click red odds to strike a bet
No More Heroes-2---
Annie Power9/4-13/8213/8
More Of That-4---
Nichols Canyon11/2-511/25
Identity Thief--669/2
Vyta Du Roc-14---
Pont Alexandre-16---
Black Hercules-20---
Camping Ground20-202016
Out Sam-20---
Roi Des Francs-20---
The New One11/2-611/27
My Tent Or Yours8-686
Native River-25---
Peace And Co20-162014
Le Mercurey-33---
Lil Rockerfeller33-3328-
Sempre Medici25-252533
Southfield Royale-33---
Tell Us More-33---
Thomas Brown-33---
Top Notch16-161616
Un Temps Pour Tout-33---
Definitly Red-40---
Old Guard--20-25
Pleasant Company-40---
Avant Tout-50---
Flaxen Flare-50---
Lessons In Milan-50---
Local Show-50---
Noble Endeavor-50---
Rule The World-50---
Shantou Flyer-50---
It Came To Pass-66---
Sign Of A Victory100-6610066

Champion Hurdle History and Winners

The Champion Hurdle dates back to 1927 when Bill Payne’s Blaris became the first Champion Hurdle winner. Initially run over a distance of 2 miles 220 yards, the Champion Hurdle quickly developed into the unofficial annual hurdling championship and has been claimed by the finest hurdlers in the history of national hunt racing.

Amongst the outstanding Champion Hurdle winners is Istabraq. Although Istabraq shares his record of three consecutive Champion Hurdle winners titles with four other great racehorses, his fine pedigree (his damsire was the legendary Secretariat) and his scorching Champion Hurdle record time of 3m 48.1s mark him as the greatest racehorse in the event’s history.

Champion Hurdle Results

Today's Racing Betting Specials

Paddy Power will refund your losing single as a free bet if your selection finishes 2nd to the SP favourite in ANY race at selected racecourse every day!

Get a 100% racing bonus when you place your first bet from any mobile device or tablet at Bet365!

Back a winner at 4/1 or higher in any race broadcast live on Channel 4 at Bet365 and you'll get a free bet of the same value to place on the next race. Cash in now!

Back a winner in a bet365 featured race at odds of 4/1 or higher and you'll score a free bet of equal value to use on the next race on the card. Get this offer now!

Bet365 pays out on disqualified horses and official winners on all win and each way bets on Horse Racing in the UK and Ireland. Get this offer from Bet365.

William Hill £20 Free Bet

  • Join William Hill today
  • Bet £10 Get £20
  • Use promo code: WC20

William Hill is a 5 star rated Sportsbook. You can read the William Hill Review to learn why.

Back to top